Presentation of the school

ESCOULEN SCHOOL

After a traditional learning of cabinetwork turning (table legs, style, balusters …) made in 1972, Jean-François Escoulen is moving gradually towards the creation of unique pieces. His mastery of thin turning and eccentric turning led him to share his knowledge worldwide. His encounters with turners of different countries gave him the opportunity to refine techniques and creations.

From 2010 to 2016, highlights of this experience and his national and international reputation, Jean-François Escoulen and his wife Monique Escoulen, cabinetmaker, have been asked by the Aiguines municipality to start the woodturning school Jean-François-Escoulen.

atelier

The school location is housed in a building of 1200 m², old holiday camp, acquired in 2004 by the municipality, and made ​​available to the association that governs school.

At the heart of this establishment, of course, a workshop. And what a workshop ! On a surface of 160 m², fifteen workstations, each with a recent wood lathe, and a complete set of specialized tools for wood turning. In an adjoining room, a machinery workshop for the preparation of wood (band saw, planer, sander, etc.). A total of over 300 tools – exceptional number – that the school provides trainees.

We also found two other workshops. One, additional to the woodturning workshop, is intended for sculpture. The second is designed to accommodate, for a year, a trainee at the end of training, so that he can start his activity while remaining supported by the school.

bibliotheque

Twelve rooms are available for students who would like to sleep on site, a cooking room allows them to take their meals in a friendly atmosphere.

For studious hours, a library dedicated to woodturning and wood in general (French and foreign editions, technical documentation, art books, journals…),and equipped with a workstation computer.

The trainings are provided by French or foreign professionals recognized for their quality. Yann Marot, woodturner installed in Aiguines, is the school referent trainer since 2015. Employers and funding bodies help to support the training provided.

Each year a comprehensive training program is developed, allowing everyone to learn or improve in woodturning, durring hobby moments sometimes, but especially for professional purposes. Two types of qualifying training are proposed : six months of the year are devoted to short courses (1 week or more), the other six months are devoted to a long training to become a wood turner (700 hours of teaching).

The school hosts also major events, such as the woodturning annual symposium “Les Petites Journées d’Aiguines” or a collaboration seminary between different arts & crafts “L’Art et la Matière” in partnership with AFTAB and AAF.

Tours Oneway

tours_oneway
The 2 woodturning workshops of the Aiguines School have 15 wood lathe, most of which are provided by the company Oneway. These wood lathe are known worldwide for their durability, their reliability and security.
logo_oneway

Présentation de l’école

L’ÉCOLE ESCOULEN

Après un apprentissage traditionnel en tournage d’ébénisterie (pieds de table, de style, balustres…) effectué en 1972, Jean-François Escoulen s’oriente peu à peu vers la création de pièces uniques. Sa grande maîtrise du tournage en finesse et du tournage excentrique l’ont amené à partager son savoir à travers le monde. Ses rencontres avec des tourneurs de différents pays lui ont donné l’occasion d’affiner techniques et créations.

Entre 2010 et 2016, forts de cette expérience et de cette réputation nationale et internationale, Jean-François Escoulen et son épouse Monique Escoulen, ébéniste, ont travaillé, à la demande de la municipalité d’Aiguines, à la création et au démarrage de l’école de tournage sur bois Jean-François-Escoulen.

Atelier de tournage sur bois à l'école Escoulen

L’école de tournage est installée dans un bâtiment de 1200 m², ancienne colonie de vacances, acquis en 2004 par la municipalité, et mis à disposition de l’association qui régit l’école.

Au cœur de cet établissement, bien sûr, un atelier. Et quel atelier ! Sur une surface de 160 m², quinze postes de travail complets : pour chaque stagiaire, un tour, un établi, un râtelier avec outillage de base. En outillage collectif, les outils complémentaires, avec, notamment, les machines et outils nécessaires à la préparation du bois, à l’affûtage et aux finitions (par exemple, scies à ruban, dégauchisseuse-raboteuse, ponceuse lapidaire et à bande, outillage portatif, outillage à main, perceuse à colonne, polissoir, tourets à meuler, scie radiale…).

Ce sont au total plus de 300 outils que l’école met à disposition de ses stagiaires. Ce nombre augmente régulièrement, notamment en fonction des besoins spécifiques de chaque thème abordé.

Bibliothèque de l'école Escoulen (tournage sur bois, sculpture sur bois, bijoux en bois)

Douze chambres permettent l’hébergement des stagiaires, une salle de réchauffe permet de prendre les repas en toute convivialité. Pour les heures studieuses, une bibliothèque consacrée au tournage et au bois en général (éditions françaises et étrangères, documentations techniques, livres d’art, revues…), et équipée d’un poste de travail informatique.

Les formations sont assurées par des professionnels français ou étrangers reconnus pour leur qualité. Yann Marot, tourneur sur bois installé à Aiguines, est le formateur référent de l’école depuis 2015. Des organismes employeurs et financeurs aident à prendre en charge les formations dispensées.

Chaque année, un programme de formation est élaboré, permettant à chacun de s’initier ou de se perfectionner au tournage sur bois, pour les moments de loisirs, ou dans un but professionnel. Deux types de formations sont proposés : six mois de l’année sont consacrés à des formations courtes (une semaine, ou plus), les six autres mois à une formation longue au métier de tourneur sur bois (700 h d’enseignement assurés Yann Marot et d’autres intervenants).

L’école accueille également des événements d’importance, comme le congrès annuel de tournage sur bois « Les Petites Journées d’Aiguines » ou en partenariat avec l’AFTAB et AAF le séminaire de collaboration entre métiers d’art« L’Art et la Matière ».

Tours Oneway

Tour à bois Oneway
Les 2 ateliers de tournage de l’école d’Aiguines comportent 15 tours dont la plupart sont fournis par la société Oneway. Ces tours sont connus dans le monde entier pour leur robustesse, leur fiabilité et leur sécurité.
logo_oneway