Alain Mailland

portrait USAIn his workshop in the heart of the maquis gardois, Alain Mailland is one of those who reveal the beauty the treasures scrubland contains : heather, arbutus, the juniper, pistachio, hackberry, among others.

Carpenter converted to turning, Alain explores and pushes his limits to invent new forms. He is one of the first in France to dig green wood, to play better on the veil that the fiber will marry drying.

He developed a technique allowing him to make turned flowers, a technique opening him the door to new sculptures : improbable flowers, anemones mutant sea, air octopus, his pieces with evocative names and often malicious suggest strange wedding but subsided fauna and flora, sea and plant.

See which are the courses Alain Mailland gives at Escoulen woodturning school: 
oceanic or veggie inspired sculptures,
– surfaces.
Download the 2018 calendar.
Alain Mailland’s website:  www.mailland.fr

 

Alain Mailland

Alain Mailland

portrait USADans son atelier logé au cœur du maquis gardois, Alain Mailland est de ceux qui révèlent la beauté des trésors que la garrigue recèle : la bruyère, l’arbousier, le cade, le pistachier, le micocoulier, parmi tant d’autres.

Charpentier converti au tour, Alain explore et repousse ses limites pour inventer de nouvelles formes. Il est l’un des premiers en France à creuser le bois vert, pour mieux jouer sur le voile que la fibre épousera en séchant.

Il développe une technique lui permettant de réaliser des fleurs tournées, technique lui ouvrant la porte à de nouvelles sculptures : fleurs improbables, anémones de mer mutantes, poulpes aériens, ses pièces aux noms évocateurs et souvent malicieux suggèrent les noces étranges mais apaisées de la faune et de la flore, de la mer et du végétal.

Découvrez les stages dispensés par Alain Mailland à l’école Escoulen :
– sculptures végétales et marines
– surfaces.

Téléchargez le calendrier complet des formations 2018.
Site d’Alain Mailland : www.mailland.fr

Alain Mailland